Books To Read in 2014

Today, being that it is the end of another year, I thought to share all the books that I haven’t read yet and plan to in 2014.

DSCN5157

  1. Bad Monkey by Carl Hiassen Get synopsis here. I am really excited about this one. It is a comedic mystery and yes, it does have a monkey in it.
  2. The Map of True Places by Brunonia Barry. Get synopsis here. I tried to read this once, but I was in a mood so I didn’t finish.  I have to try it at least once more before giving it away. I am truly hoping I do better with it this time.
  3. Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet. Get Synopsis here. I got this for Christmas and it sounds great. I am really wanting to read this book soon.
  4. The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling. Get synopsis here. Another book I had tried to read, but couldn’t get into at the time. It was pretty slow beginning and there are just sooo many people in this book to keep track of. But I have a rule that I have to try the book at least once more before giving away.
  5. Buried Prey by John Sanford. Get synopsis here. A mystery/suspense. I am happy to be getting more into these types of books. It has been awhile.
  6. Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger. Get synopsis here. I heard this book was pretty creepy and had to do with ghosts? So I am pretty thrilled. I loved The Time Traveler’s Wife so I am excited to see what this is all about. I am starting it today.
  7. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken. Get synopsis here. Yes, this is YA. I bought this one before I had made the statement of not  buying more YA. You will also see two more YA book.
  8. Just One Day by Gayle Forman. Get Synopsis here.
  9. The Hypnotist by Lars Kepler. Get synopsis here. I started this book and then quit. I think I had a hard time with the writing style, but we will see if my opinion changes.
  10. The Bookseller by Mark Pryor. Get synopsis here. A mystery about a bookseller. I am super duper excited!
  11. Birdsong by Sebastion Faulk. Get Synopsis here. I had tried to get into this and I just don’t know if the story is for me so second round here we go.
  12. I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. Get synopsis here. I am really happy to have this book in my possession. I have heard a lot of great things about it.
  13. Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See. Get Synopsis here. I am very intrigued by this story line and I really hope that I like it.
  14. Evenfall by Liz Michalski. Get Synopsis here. Another try but fail. I am not sure what stopped me, but maybe it was the predictability that I felt coming off of it. We shall see if I feel the same this time round.
  15. The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith. Get synopsis here.
  16. White Teeth by Zadie Smith. Get synopsis here. When I was bored with a book I was reading I went into this one. I felt myself disliking the comedy and the story. So I hope the break has helped in that way. I will finish the book no matter.
  17. Twenty Years  Later by Alexander Dumas. Get Synopsis here. I am super excited about this one. I have read The Three Musketeers and I am happy to get back into their story.
  18. Selected Poems by John Keats. Get Synopsis here. I have read a few poems here and there, but I want to go further and read all of them. I have no opinion yet.

This list does not include the seven books I have ordered from Barnes & Noble. I got a gift card and since I knew I could get more for my buck online I now have to wait until I get them for awhile. Although, I do believe I should be getting some of them in a few days since they are all in state.

 

So have you read any of these and what are your thoughts

Do you see any you are interested in?

What books do you still need to read?? Tell me. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Books To Read in 2014

  1. quite the list. i have not heard of many of these much less have read them. i think i read maybe 2 books this year. i dont sit and read, books that is but will read magazines articles that i might find interesting

Leave a Reply

