READING GOALS(2016)

(apparently my video editor says I have network problems, but I don’t know how that can be when the internet is working.)

Before we talk about 2016 let us review my reading goals for 2015:

The first one was to read 100 books. I did not succeed in this one. I only read 87 books in total and that is just fine. It is just to see where I land at the end of each year number wise and although I would have liked to have gotten to a hundred, I am not disappointed in the number that I did read. 87 is more than I expected I would read, considering I was having a major reading slump for most of the year.

Second goal was to borrow more than buy. I don’t think I borrowed as much as I had planned, but I also didn’t buy as much either. I am okay especially with not having borrowed as much. One, again I was having a major slump and I feel borrowing at all contributed to that, but secondly, I feel borrowing was a hinder to my third goal for 2015, which was:

Finish my TBR. I had over 100 books at the beginning of 2015 and I wanted to say I had completed or had at least gotten back to a reasonable number(5-10 books). I did cut it down by half with giving away a lot of them and of course, reading some, but I don’t feel satisfied at all with what is still there.

Next, I didn’t want to DNF books. I think this was another contributing factor in my reading slump this year. I would try to finish a book I wasn’t enjoying and it would turn me off trying the next book I picked up. Therefore, I have come to the realization that DNF’ing books is my friend.

My last goal for this last year was to not buy and as I mentioned before I did buy, but I am not disappointed in the fact that I didn’t succeed with this goal since I don’t believe I over bought books and all of them were books I know I will like and want on my shelves as part of my library.

So although I didn’t succeed in any of these goals, for the most part I am not disappointed. Like I have always said these are goals, not resolutions. I don’t care for making them in stone and putting pressure on myself. I always know that I will fail that way, and I don’t want to be disappointed when I do. These are things I want to reach for and don’t expect to finish.

Now forward onto 2016!

  1. This year I want to finish my TBR. I do feel this can be accomplished for sure this time around as I don’t have that many on my shelves this time around.
  2. No borrowing books from the library. Again I felt this was a hindrance in the number of books I read from my own shelves so this has to not happen this year.  But, there is two exceptions of this goal. The first one is if I want to continue with a series I have started. I don’t want to buy the next book until I have read it and know that I liked it enough to continue spending money on them so therefore this exception. The second exception is if I need a book for a later goal.
  3. No buying books. This is loosey goosey because I have a limit for the year if I do end up buying, which is 10 books.
  4. I want to finish Outlander by Diane Gabaldon this year. I tried it again last year and didn’t finish it. I was enjoying it for the most part so I want to try it again. This will be my last time though. I have had it on my shelves for too long and I have been too indecisive about it.
  5. I also want to finish The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. I am 2/3 of the way through the book and I know I will be able to finish it this year. It is slogger of a book for me and I don’t enjoy it as much as I was hoping but I want to be able to say at the end of 2016 that I accomplished reading LotRs.
  6. I also want to do a reading challenge. I made a hodge-podge of it by just gathering parts of 5-6 challenges I found that I liked. It equals 12 reading challenges for the year. I am calling it Amber’s Hodge-Podge Reading Challenge, lol. The reason why I am using this as an exception for the library goal is because, although most of them I have been able to use my own tbr books for them, there is a few that I don’t have and will need to borrow.
  7. I want to re-read one book a month. As you know my first goal is to finish my TBR, so I don’t feel like I should focus on re-reading, but I also want to re-read. I feel one re-read a month is workable because of that.
  8. My final goal for 2016 is to read 50. I feel this is more reachable and if I make it before the end of the year I can always raise my goal.

These are my goals. Hopefully this year will be better reading wise. Tell me what your goals are! I’d love to hear from you.

One thought on “READING GOALS(2016)

Leave a Reply

